Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Custom User Data is an advanced tool that enables you to store and reference additional information about your mobile workers.  By By default, when you register a new mobile worker you can specify their username, first name, last name , e-mail address, language, role, and phone numberand password. Custom User Data allows any number of additional fields. For example, you could create a category of user, additional location data, or other metadata.

...

View the introduction video for Custom User Data

Widget Connector
urlhttphttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwfMkuOp_zO-qDKsc3JDI

Configure Custom User Data

...

  • On CommCareHQ navigate to Users -> Mobile Workers.
  • Click on the "Edit User Fields" button in the middle of the screen:

Image RemovedImage Added

You will be brought to Edit User Fields page:

...

To remove a field click on delete - but note that if you delete a field that has already been populated for users, the next time that user's information is updated, any data collected for that field will be deleted as well. See below for more on this.

You can change the order of the fields by dragging the vertical arrows on the left side of the screen.

...

concat(instance('commcaresession')/session/user/data/commcare_first_name, " ", instance('commcaresession')/session/user/data/commcare_last_name)

 

Removing Custom User Data and Handling "Uncategorized" Data

As described above, you can remove fields on the "Edit User Fields" page. Removing a field does not necessarily remove the data that is attached to users.

The bottom of the page includes a checkbox to remove unused fields:

Image Added

If you remove a field and do check this box, all data for the removed field will be removed from users.

If you do not check this box, the field will be removed, but users will still have the related data, which is now called "unrecognized" or "uncategorized." If you created a field called "size," assigned a value to a user, and then deleted the field, when you view the user you will see this section of "unrecognized" data. As described in the warning, if you save this user, the "size" value will be deleted.

Image Added


 This unrecognized data will still appear in mobile worker downloads and can still be edited. It will appear in columns marked "Uncategorized."